THANKFUL TREE

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more.  If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you never, ever have enough.” –Oprah Winfrey

A few years ago, I noticed friends posting on Facebook what they were thankful for each day in November.  I love the public display of gratitude, but wanted to put my own spin on it.  At the time, I was going through rough patch in my work and personal life.  Focusing on my gratitude helped redirect my focus and made me realize what was really important in this life.

Each year since, I have continued with my Thankful Tree.  Each morning, before I leave for my day, I write what I am thankful for on a piece of paper.  This year, I used a template for a maple leaf and cut out 30 pieces on various sheets of paper.  I then hang the leaf on my tree tying the stem with raffia.  It is encouraging seeing my tree “bloom” as the month progresses. It also makes a great center piece and talking point at holiday gatherings.

I encourage everyone to take a moment each day to acknowledge what you are thankful for.

FullSizeRender (7)

Leave a Reply

